Adaptations, Good or Bad?

By Crymsyn Hart

I’m an avid fan of the Vampire Diaries on the CW network and I’m even a bigger fan of the books by L..J. Smith. When I first heard the CW was going to make the series into a television show, I was at a Dragon*Con where they were holding a casting call for the Vampire Diaries television show. I could hardly believe it. The horror! How could they take one of my beloved series and make it into a television show! Of course there was nothing I could do about it, but wait and see how much they chopped it up. Then I watched the show. I was mildly happy with the adaptation of the storyline from the books to the small screen. And next fall, the CW is supposed to have an adaptation of L.J. Smith’s The Secret Circle Trilogy. I am very excited to see how this turns out. Hopefully they will do a good job at portraying the characters and not messing around with the basic plot of the story which can happen.

Taking the leap from the page to the visual medium is a difficult thing to do. People have a certain image of a character in their mind. If that character is in a series it might be hard for them to see another representation of the characters on-screen. Of course that can be said for Twilight where so many people had read the books and then so many more people have seen the movie. I was one of the opposites where I saw Twilight first and liked the movie and then read the books. So in my head I was seeing Robert Pattinson anyway as Edward.

But then again, watching films like The Chronicles of Narnia and seeing how movie magic brought the fantastical creatures to life was amazing for me. Dancing fawns and fighting unicorns were better seen on the screen than in my imagination. It had been so long since I had read the book that it drew me back to wanting to read the books.

With so many books made into movies and television show, do you think that sometimes they should just leave certain books alone? Or are there books that are begging to be made into movies? What do you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

